Self-publishing sales goal

I am moving steadily closer to the launch date for my indie publishing project,  “Vampire Brides from Planet Hell.” With that in mind I want to talk very briefly about goals. One of the problems with my first, experimental, extremely unsuccessful foray into this area was that I had no real idea of what I was trying to accomplish, other than get an ebook online for distribution. This time I’m setting a sales goal.

My sales goal is simple: I want to break even. Which means I have to net $75 (the cost of my cover art). At a $0.35 royalty per sale that means I need to sell about 215 copies.

I decided on this goal because I am a complete unknown learning the ropes. I don’t expect to set the world on fire. If I do that’s great. I’ll adjust the goal as needed.

Leave a Reply

