A fresh “perspective” for my writing

I am trying a new strategy with my latest fiction project. I am writing the whole thing in first person in the first draft. Then I’ll go back and change the POV as needed (I think the final product will work better in third person).

Why bother with all that trouble? Writing in first person POV has some major advantages:

  • It helps me “get into” characters’ heads
  • It makes it easier for me to write sensory detail
  • For whatever reason I feel like I write with a stronger voice in first person (in college a theater major asked me to write her a monologue for an audition so there might really be something to this one)

Generally speaking, I find the most difficult thing about any new writing project to be finding a way “in.” Adopting a first person POV in the early stages should make that easier.

One comment

  1. Wow! I have never heard of anyone doing that. And if it works for you then more power to ya! Good luck with your project!

Leave a Reply

